Useful Links

LINKS FOR PARENTS TO SUPPORT HOME LEARNING:

BBC Bitesize Daily: Lots of easy-to-follow lessons for home learning, as well as collections of resources for all ages BBC Bitesize Daily

Hungry Little Mind: activities for children in Early Years https://hungrylittleminds.campaign.gov.uk/

Oxford Owl http://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/

Parental Engagement -ask questions, share your experiences and good advice http://www.parentalengagement.co.uk/

Phonics Play (KS1) http://www.phonicsplay.co.uk/

Letters and Sounds: supporting the DfES phonics programme (Foundation) http://www.letters-and-sounds.com/

Teaching Cursive Handwriting https://www.teachhandwriting.co.uk/continuous-cursive-beginners-choice-4.html

ICT Games (Foundation and KS1) http://www.ictgames.com/resources.html

BBC Bitesize Maths (KS1) http://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/ks1/maths/

BBC Bitesize Maths (KS2) http://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/ks2/maths

Primary Homework Help http://www.primaryhomeworkhelp.co.uk/

Words for Life http://www.wordsforlife.org.uk/

ARCh (Assisted Reading for Children) is a local registered charity which operates in Oxfordshire primary schools to help children who are struggling with reading. www.archoxfordshire.org.uk

STAYING SAFE

KidSMART: Learning about eSafety http://www.kidsmart.org.uk

SCASKids: South Central Ambulance Service website offering advice and information for children, parents and teachers to help them stay safe and healthy in a number of situations. http://scaskids.co.uk/

Thinkuknow: Advice for students, parents and carers and teachers. The latest information on the sites you like to visit, mobiles and new technology. https://www.thinkuknow.co.uk/

CEOP: Are you worried about online sexual abuse or the way someone has been communicating with you online? Make a report to one of CEOP’s Child Protection Advisors https://www.ceop.police.uk/safety-centre/

Childline: Get help and advice about a wide range of issues or need to talk?https://www.childline.org.uk/

YoungMinds: Your one-stop shop for mental health, wellbeing and resilience. https://youngminds.org.uk/

Place 2Be: Improving children’s mental health. https://www.place2be.org.uk/

Parent Zone: Fortnite – everything you need to know about the online game  https://parentzone.org.uk/article/fortnite-everything-you-need-know-about-online-game

National Online Security – https://nationalonlinesafety.com/
What parents and carers need to know about Rec Room
How to set up emergency mode on your Samsung
How to make an emergency SOS call on an iPhone
How to prepare for an emergency with your Google phone
How to set up parental controls to limit age-inappropriate content on iPhone
How to set up parental controls to limit age-inappropriate content on Android phone
Download the National Online Safety app. Superb free resources and essential information, straight to your phone:
Apple: https://hubs.ly/H0MFBHl0      Android: https://hubs.ly/H0MFBKr0

Wellbeing and support for you and your child

Supporting young children during the pandemic

Letter from Place2Be with lots of websites and advice

LINKS FOR PARENTS AND CARERS

Ofsted Report https://reports.ofsted.gov.uk/provider/21/138501

Ofsted: Find and compare schools https://www.gov.uk/school-performance-tables

Ofsted Parent View: Parent View gives you the chance to tell Ofsted what you think about your child’s school. parentview.ofsted.gov.uk/

Link to the Dashwood Banbury Academy School Performance Tables on the Department of Education website https://www.compare-school-performance.service.gov.uk/school/138501/dashwood-banbury-academy/primary

SATs Link for Parents: Information about the national curriculum tests (often referred to as SATS) https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/national-curriculum-assessments-information-for-parents

COMMUNITY LINKS

Shine Local: For local Banbury information http://www.shinelocal.co.uk/banbury/

Banbury Guardian https://www.banburyguardian.co.uk/

The Sunshine Centre  https://sunshinecentre.org/

The Sunshine Centre Let’s Communicate: 6 week programmes to develop your child’s language and communication skills. Download more details and booking form here. Not currently running due to covid restrictions.

Where next

Reading Lists

Suggested Reading Lists If you would like to see a suggested reading list for your child’s year group please follow these links: Year 1 Pupils…

Reading Lists

We use cookies to analyse usage of the website.
Collecting this data allows us to make the website work as well as possible.

Find out more